Strictly Come Dancing’s It Takes Two to air on BBC One

When does It Takes Two start? New series air date

Strictly Come Dancing spin-off It Takes Two will move to BBC One for the start of its new series.


It comes as 2019 welcomes Rylan Clark-Neal to the hosting team, joining Zoe Ball.

Zoe had been the sole face of the ballroom extravaganza’s BBC Two weekday companion since taking over from Claudia Winkleman in 2013.

However, this year she has a new co-presenter in Rylan – formerly of Big Brother sister show Bit On The Side.

When does It Takes Two start on TV?

It Takes Two will start on Monday, September 23 at 5:15PM on BBC One.

After two weeks, It Takes Two will return to its usual home on BBC Two airing at 6:30PM Monday-Thursdays and 6PM on Mondays.

Rylan previously revealed details about how he and Zoe would be splitting the hosting duties.


“I might as well just say, I’m going to be doing Mondays and Tuesdays,” he told ITV’s This Morning. “Zoe’s doing Wednesdays and Thursdays, and we’re both doing Fridays, which is fantastic.”

He said Zoe chose to cut down on It Takes Two after replacing Chris Evans on the BBC Radio 2 breakfast show in January.

“Me and Zoe are sort of sharing duties, she’s doing the breakfast show now on Radio 2,” he continued.

“She just wanted to take a little bit of a step back. It’s a lot of work doing early mornings and nights as well.”

Meanwhile, Strictly 2019’s first live episode airs on Saturday, September 21 at 7PM. The marathon first episode runs to 9:20PM.

The couples on Strictly Come Dancing 2019 include Catherine Tyldesley & Johannes Radebe, Saffron Barker & AJ Pritchard, Michelle Visage & Giovanni Pernice and Alex Scott MBE & Neil Jones.

Joining them are Emma Barton & Anton Du Beke, Viscountess Emma Weymouth & Aljaž Škorjanec and Anneka Rice & Kevin Clifton.


Also on this year’s line up are James Cracknell OBE & Luba Mushtuk, Karim Zeroual & Amy Dowden, Chris Ramsey & Karen Clifton and David James & Nadiya Bychkova.

And completing the cast are Will Bayley MBE & Janette Manrara, Mike Bushell & Katya Jones, Dev Griffin & Dianne Buswell and Kelvin Fletcher & Oti Mabuse.