Strictly Come Dancing 2023 start date and lineup CONFIRMED for new series

When does Strictly Come Dancing begin? Strictly 2023 air date revealed

The new series of Strictly Come Dancing for 2023 is on its way this month – here’s all you need to know!


Returning to BBC One, a brand new line up of fifteen celebs will be entering the ballroom this autumn.

Shirley Ballas, Craig Revel Horwood, Motsi Mabuse and Anton Du Beke will be back behind the judges desk this year.

Strictly Come Dancing 2023 cast

When does Strictly Come Dancing start on TV?

Strictly Come Dancing begins on Saturday, 16 September at 6:35PM on BBC One.

The show’s pre-recorded launch show will see the celebs pair up their professional partners.

Current Strictly champions Hamza and Jowita will make a return to the ballroom and Jessie Ware will perform one of her biggest hits.


The Strictly Come Dancing live shows will begin a week later on Saturday, 23 September on BBC One.

Claudia Winkleman and Tess Daly will be back to host live each Saturday night with the results on Sunday evening.

The live final will take place on 16 December while 18 November will see the traditional Blackpool Tower special.

Who’s on the line up?

Celebrities confirmed for 2023’s Strictly Come Dancing line up include radio presenter and TV host Nikita Kanda, presenter Eddie Kadi, actor Bobby Brazier, Sherlock and Mr Selfridge actress Amanda Abbington and actor Nigel Harman.

They’re joined by tennis star and broadcaster Annabel Croft, athlete Jody Cundy, Love Island star Zara McDermott, The One Show reporter Angela Scanlon and journalist and broadcaster Krishnan Guru-Murthy.

Concluding this season’s contestants are showbiz legend Les Dennis, soap star Adam Thomas, musical theatre star Layton Williams, actress Ellie Leach and newsreader Angela Rippon.

Meanwhile, the professionals taking part in Strictly Come Dancing’s latest series are Giovanni Pernice, Neil Jones, Vito Coppola, Amy Dowden, Nikita Kuzmin, Gorka Marquez, Dianne Buswell, Graziano Di Prima, Jowita Przystal and Lauren Oakley.

They’re joined by Katya Jones, Johannes Radebe, Nadiya Bychkova, Carlos Gu, Kai Widdrington, Nancy Xu, Karen Hauer, Luba Mushtuk and Michelle Tsiakkas.

As ever, the couples will perform for marks from the judges before those watching get their say.


On Sunday night the lowest ranked pairings will battle it out in the dance off before one is voted out.

You can watch episodes online via BBC iPlayer.