Strictly Come Dancing 2019 line up and judges hit the red carpet for launch show

The Strictly Come Dancing 2019 contestants were on the red carpet this week as they recorded this year’s launch show.


A total of fifteen celebs have signed up for the new series and they were joined by hosts Claudia Winkleman and Tess Daly as well as returning judges Shirley Ballas, Bruno Tonioli and Craig Revel Horwood at the launch.

Joining them for her first series was Strictly’s new judge Motsi Mabuse, who replaces Darcey Bussell on the panel.

The stars were at BBC’s Studios in London together with this year’s professional dancers to record next month’s opening episode.

Signed up for Strictly this year are former England footballer David James, stand up comedian Chris Ramsey and EastEnders star Emma Barton.

They’re joined by social media star and YouTuber Saffron Barker, Coronation Street actress Catherine Tyldesley, BBC Breakfast’s sports presenter Mike Bushell and CBBC presenter Karim Zeroual.

Also on the Strictly line up are TV legend Anneka Rice, Viscountess Emma Weymouth, RuPaul Drag Race’s Michelle Visage, Paralympic champion Will Bayley, and footballer and presenter Alex Scott.

Completing the line up are Made In Chelsea’s Jamie Laing, Radio 1 DJ Dev Griffin and gold medal winning Olympian James Cracknell.


The launch will see the all star cast paired up with their pro for the series before they hit the training room for three weeks of intensive rehearsals ahead of the first live show at the end of next month.

The Strictly Come Dancing 2019 pros were announced earlier this year, with some changes.

2019 sees the departure of Pasha Kovalev who announced his departure previously in 2019 “to find a new challenge”.

Making up the male pros for 2019 are AJ Pritchard, Aljaž Škorjanec, Anton Du Beke, Giovanni Pernice, Gorka Marquez, Graziano Di Prima, Johannes Radebe, Kevin Clifton and Neil Jones.

Meanwhile, new dancer Nancy Xu joins the line up.

She completes the female pro line up with Amy Dowden, Dianne Buswell, Janette Manrara, Karen Clifton, Katya Jones, Luba Mushtuk, Nadiya Bychkova and Oti Mabuse.

The opening episode airs on Saturday night, September 7 and will also see introductions to all the celebs on the line up, a group dance from the professionals and the first dance from the stars themselves.

Plus, there will be a special music performance from Kylie Minogue.


The live shows are expected to start on Saturday, September 21.

PICS: BBCStrictly/Twitter