We may earn commission from links on this page learn more

Little Mix open up on split from Simon Cowell’s label as they release new album

Little Mix are preparing for a “new start” after leaving Simon Cowell’s Syco record label.


Little Mix – made up of Jesy Nelson, Leigh-Anne Pinnock, Jade Thirlwall and Perrie Edwards – triumphed on The X Factor seven years ago now.

It was revealed last weekend that former X Factor winners Little Mix would no longer be working with Simon’s Syco company.

Their new album LM5 is out today (Friday, November 16) on new label RCA and the ladies are looking forward to a fresh beginning to their careers.

“We’re ready for a new start. Change, especially in the creative industry is always good,” said Perrie.

Leigh-Anne added: “We were with Syco for seven years and had an incredible journey but it’s going to be nice to change it up and get a new view on us.

“A change and a fresh start is a good thing, we’re excited.”


The group have contributed their own music and lyrics to a number of songs, including new single Strip.

Jesy told The Sun newspaper: “The best stuff comes from us. You can tell the stuff that’s come from us because of what we write about.

“And that’s the stuff that hits home the most with our fans. It’s real.”

Leigh-Anne added: “I feel we know best. We are young, we know what girls want to listen to.”

Speaking earlier this week, Simon insisted there was no ‘falling out’ between himself and the girls.

He said: “Well, I can show you all the correspondence between me and the girls over the years, there’s never been an instance when we’ve fallen out.


“As I said in my email to them, I stand by the fact they are the hardest working bunch of girls I’ve ever worked with. They deserve everything they’ve got.”

It’s said that despite the behind the scenes changes, Little Mix will still make an appearance on The X Factor final next month.