Dancing On Ice set for some big changes for its new series

Dancing On Ice will return in 2019 but there will be some big changes from last series.


Dancing On Ice originally aired between 2006 and 2014 on ITV before a revival in 2018.

ITV has confirmed an eleventh series for 2019 but there will be some changes in the mix.

Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield will be back as hosts while Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean will again head up the ice panel.

Jason Gardiner will also be back, and Ashley Banjo is expected to return after making his debut last year.

But Ashley’s brother Jordan will not be reprising his role as backstage and digital host.

“Jordan isn’t able to return due to scheduling conflicts, and the whole team at Dancing on Ice wishes him well,” a rep for the show told DigitalSpy.


Another shake up will see a number of new pro skaters, it’s been reported.

“Ale Izquierdo, who skated with Max Evans in this year’s show, won’t return, neither will Melody Le Moal, who was partnered with Lemar,” a source told The Sun newspaper. “Show bosses are bringing in new professionals to shake things up.”

A spokesperson for Dancing On Ice said: “We will be confirming our professionals line up in due course.”

Meanwhile, Karen Barber will once again be joining the series. The Olympic skater was a judge on the show during its original run between 2006 and 2011. Karen then moved to a coaching position before returning to the judging panel for the then final series in 2014.

Karen wasn’t a part of the original Dancing On Ice revival earlier this year but is set to join the team again in 2019 as head coach.

The line up of Dancing On Ice 2019 contestants were confirmed by ITV earlier this year.

Those announced for the cast include reality star Gemma Collins, actor Richard Blackwood, TV personality Saira Khan and Westlife singer Brian McFadden.


They’re joined by former Strictly Come Dancing pro James Jordan, cricketer Ryan Sidebottom, actor Jane Danson, Australian Neighbours actor Mark Little and Pussycat Doll Melody Thornton

Completing the line up are Grease legend Didi Conn, Love Island star Wes Nelson and X Factor and Eurovision singer Saara Aalto.