Junior Eurovision Song Contest start time and date – how to watch in the UK

When is Junior Eurovision Song Contest on TV?

The Junior Eurovision Song Contest comes to the BBC in the UK this weekend – here’s all you need to know!

The BBC will broadcast the contest for the first time in the competition’s history while the UK takes part for the first time since 2005.

The 2022 Junior Eurovision Song Contest will take place on Sunday, 11 December with contestants aged between 9 and 14 taking part. Similar to the main Eurovision Song Contest, the winner is decided by a mixture of national juries and viewer votes.

Junior Eurovision 2022: UK entry Freya.
Junior Eurovision 2022: UK entry Freya. Credit: BBC/Justin Downing

Armenia will host the event following Maléna’s winning performance in 2021 with Qami Qami.

The UK entry will be 13 year-old Freya Skye with the song Lose My Head.

Meanwhile TV and radio presenter, Lauren Layfield, and singer HRVY will host UK coverage of the event.

Watch Junior Eurovision Song Contest on TV and online

The Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be broadcast simultaneously on BBC One and CBBC on Sunday 11 December at 3PM UK time.

You’ll also be able to watch online live and on catch up via the BBC iPlayer.

The news follows confirmation that the United Kingdom will host next year’s Eurovision Song Contest on behalf of Ukraine.

It was previously announced that Liverpool would host the show in May 2023.

Patricia Hidalgo, Director BBC Children’s and Education, said: “We are beyond excited to bring the Junior Eurovision Song Contest to the BBC for the first time, and to showcase the diverse young musical talent from across Europe for children and their families to discover and enjoy together.

“This junior version of Eurovision will undoubtedly encapsulate the same spirit of unity that the adult contest brings, reflecting the heart of what CBBC is all about, an inclusive channel that celebrates the diversity and creativity in all children. I can’t wait to unveil our own musical talent who will proudly represent the UK.”

More on: