Love Island’s Megan Barton Hanson announces split from Wes Nelson


Love Island’s Megan Barton Hanson and Wes Nelson have split up.

Megan has announced she and Wes have “decided to separate” after less than a year together.

The pair met on Love Island’s latest series on ITV last summer but recently faced relationship turmoil as Wes joined Dancing On Ice.

Megan lashed out at his pro partner in a rant on social media, and has now announced she and Wes are no longer together.

“It is with hearts full of sadness that we have decided to separate,” Megan posted today. “We have been working hard for well under a year, some of it together, some of it separated, to see what might have been possible, and we have come to the conclusion that while we love each other very much, we will remain separate.”

In a message in the theme of Gwyneth Paltrow and Chris Martin, Megan joked: “We are, however, and always will be a family, and in many ways we are closer than we ever have been. We are parents first and foremost to one incredibly wonderful hamster and we ask for his and our space and privacy to be respected at this difficult time.

“We haven’t really conducted our relationship that privately, and we hope that as we consciously uncouple and co-parent, we will be able to continue in the same manner.”

Megan later added in a follow up post: “In all seriousness, I am so grateful and so blessed to have found Wes, I will always love and adore him and I am so lucky to call him my best friend,” Megan continued.

“It has been an incredibly hard decision to make for both of us but we are looking forward to moving on together as friends and supporting each other in everything we do.”

Suggesting she had cleared the air with Wes’ Dancing On Ice pro skater Vanessa Bauer, Megan concluded: “I will be down at Dancing On Ice tomorrow to watch him smash it again. Only one thing left to say, come on Wes and Vanessa! x”

Wes has yet to make any statement of his own.

With Megan and Wes’ split, the only Love Island couples still together at this time are winners Dani Dyer & Jack Fincham and finalists Josh Denzel & Kazimir ‘Kaz’ Crossley.