Group of Love Island stars 'to compete in Celebrity X Factor'

love island 2019 x factor group

A number of Love Island stars will reportedly form a group for X Factor's Celebrity series.

A special version of The X Factor is set to air this autumn featuring familiar faces as contestants.

Although no names have been confirmed, it's been claimed that a group of Love Islanders could be taking part.

The Sun reports that former Islanders Zara McDermott, Eyal Booker, Wes Nelson and Samira Mighty are set to team up to sing in the competition.

A source claimed: “Show boss Simon Cowell has long-admired Love Island and its pulling power. So when the idea of a Love Island supergroup was raised he thought it was great.

“They’re not signed yet, but the four have been discussing songs and how they’d approach the show, so it looks very likely. They’re all confident that they can hold a tune.”

A spokesperson for the show said of the rumours: “There is much speculation regarding the contestants for this year’s series of The X Factor.”

Other rumoured celebrity contestants include reality sensation Gemma Collins, TV presenter Caroline Flack, TV personality Megan McKenna and actor John Barrowman.

Also linked to the show have been footballer turned actor Vinnie Jones, EastEnders star Jacqueline Jossa and even BGT judge Amanda Holden.

According to other reports, the winner of Celebrity's X Factor series is set to scoop a record deal - just like the regular version.

Meanwhile, it's claimed that the panel will see an all star line up of former judges.

With spaces to fill after both Robbie and Ayda Williams quit, Louis Walsh and Nicole Scherzinger are said to be in talks to return.

And Cheryl has said she also wouldn't rule out a comeback.

She told the Metro: "I would have to go and talk to them properly and find out exactly what it is about, I don’t know too much about it at the moment.

"I have a passion about music and people, so I did love my time on there and I wouldn’t say no if they asked me."

The X Factor airs on ITV.

Alongside Simon, Robbie and Ayda, last year's line up of judges also included Louis Tomlinson.

Subscribe on YouTube