We may earn commission from links on this page learn more

X Factor’s Louisa Johnson drops new single after leaving Simon Cowell’s label

X Factor winner Louisa Johnson has revealed her brand new single.


Louisa has teamed up with One Bit – Jonty Howard and Joe Murphy – for hot new song Between You & Me.

Louisa said of the song: “I love dance and club music and I’ve spent the summer recording some real bangers. I’m so excited for people to hear my new tracks.

“I’ve been having the time of my life out in Ibiza this summer recording new songs.

“I love the energy there, it’s all about music and good times.”

You can listen to the track with the official lyric video above and download/stream it here.


The track is Louisa’s first on her new label Ministry of Sound, after leaving Simon Cowell’s record label.

The 2015 X Factor champ has still yet to release a debut album and has now announced a change of record company.

Taking to Twitter earlier this year, Louisa told fans she was no longer working with Simon’s Syco label moving forward.

Louisa wrote: “Hi babiessss. I’ve been working super hard and I Just wanted to let you all know that Syco Music and I have decided not to work together moving forward. It was genuinely a mutual decision and there are no hard feelings.

“Big thank you to Syco for everything they’ve done for me, I’ve had an actual blast! It’s been so much fun and I’ll always be grateful to Simon and the team for all their support.

“I’m excited to be releasing a single with @ministryofsound next month which is still part of the Sony family. You’re gonna love this one guys ;,.; ”

Louisa added: “Forever grateful for my journey so far.. can’t wait for you to hear new music ??”

Louisa is the latest X Factor act to part ways from their label.

In 2018 already, 5 After Midnight, Matt Terry and Ella Henderson have all seen their deals come to an end.


Last month, X Factor 2016 winner Matt insisted: “You don’t even really need a label to sell. Fair enough, they plan everything for you, but I can still move forward . . . onwards and upwards.”

Current X Factor winners still signed include Little Mix, who put out brand new single Only You earlier this year, reigning champions Rak-Su and 2012 victor James Arthur.