Pride of Britain Awards on ITV tonight: All you need to know

Pride of Britain Awards 2019 winners

tellymix logo

The 2019 Pride of Britain Awards takes place tonight - here's all you need to know about the ceremony.

Marking its 20th anniversary, the Pride of Britain Awards 2019 will air this evening, November 5 on ITV.


The ceremony, which takes place tonight (October 28) in London and is hosted by Carol Vorderman, will air from 8PM.

The awards recognise and celebrate ordinary people up and down the country doing extraordinary things after some 20,000 nominations.

Famous faces from the worlds of film, television, music and sport will be on hand to present the awards, with those taking part including Prince Charles, Robert Downey Jr, Chris Pratt, Michael Caine, Helen Mirren, David Jason, Gareth Southgate, Adam Lambert, and the cast of Strictly Come Dancing.

This year’s remarkable winners include 7-year-old Jaydee-Lee Dummett who saved her family’s lives by raising the alarm when she recognised the signs of deadly carbon monoxide poisoning. Schoolboy Ben Hedger is honoured for steering his mum’s car across a dual carriageway after she collapsed at the wheel at 65mph.

11-year-old Dante Marvin, who defies an agonising condition to inspire others with his motto ‘there are no disabilities, only abilities’, plus Makaton creator Margaret Walker and police officer SGT Stevie Bull are nominated, the latter for her quick-thinking when a man was brandishing a gun at hospital staff.

Alongside these extraordinary stories of courageousness, bravery and going the extra mile will be a host of on the night surprises.


Dancing superstar and Diversity frontman Ashley Banjo joins Carol as a roving presenter with award-winning singer Emeli Sandé performing on the night.

Meanwhile, as part of the 20th anniversary of the awards, the night offers a chance to look back at some of the most memorable moments from over the years, revisiting some of the most courageous and selfless recipients, as well as the vast array of famous faces who have graced the awards with their presence over the last two decades.

The Pride Of Britain Awards airs from 8PM, Tuesday November 5 on ITV.

You'll be able to watch the ceremony live online and catch up via the ITV Hub.


Tens of thousands of people nominated their unsung heroes and the winners were chosen by a judging panel which this year included host Carol Vorderman, Metropolitan Police Commissioner Cressida Dick, legendary broadcaster Sir Trevor McDonald, Good Morning Britain presenter Susanna Reid and Ben Shephard and TV presenter Eamonn Holmes.

Also on the panel were Christine Lampard, Dermot O’Leary and Rochelle Humes, TV doctor Ranj Singh, Mirror Editor in Chief Lloyd Embley, Daily Mirror Editor Alison Phillips, Pete Markey, TSB Chief Marketing Officer, Executive Producers Alan Holland and Richard Hastings and Pride of Britain founder and director Peter Willis.

More on: TV
Follow on Twitter
Follow on Twitter
Like on Facebook