UK Eurovision entry 2017: Shortlist of six singers and songs revealed

tellymix logo

The BBC today has confirmed the names of the six acts and songs on the shortlist to become the UK Eurovision entry 2017.

They will take to the Eurovision: You Decide stage TONIGHT, Friday 27th January to compete for the honour of representing the United Kingdom at Eurovision 2017 in Kyiv, Ukraine.


Hosted by Mel Giedroyc, the 90-minute UK Selection show will be broadcast live on BBC Two at 19.30 this evening from The Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith and will feature performances by the six competing acts before the vote opens.

The six acts - who are ALL former X Factor contestants - and songs were revealed today on BBC Radio 2’s Ken Bruce show and are as follows (in alphabetical order):

Danyl Johnson with Light Up The World
Written by Dan McAlister, Rick Blaskey, Greg Walker, Chris Sutherland and Ameerah Roelants.

Holly Brewer with I Wish I Loved You More
Written by Kevin Fisher, Courtney Harrell, Laurell Barker, Mattias Frändå, Johan Åsgärde and Oliver Lundström.

Lucie Jones with Never Give Up On You
Written by The Treatment, Emmelie de Forest and Lawrie Martin.

Nate Simpson with What Are We Made Of
Written by Jon Hällgren, Eric Lumiere and DWB.


Olivia Garcia with Freedom Hearts
Written by Gabriel Alares, Sebastian Lestapier, Linnea Nelson and Laurell Barker.

Salena Mastroianni with I Don’t Wanna Fight
Written by The Treatment, Nicole Blair and Marli Harwood.

The six songs are available to listen via

On the night, an expert panel will be on hand to offer their thoughts on how the songs could be made to look and sound on stage in Kyiv. They are Bruno Tonioli, Sophie Ellis-Bextor and CeCe Sammy. They will form part of an eight person jury.

The winner of Eurovision: You Decide 2017 will be decided by a combination of viewer and jury votes.


Eurovision: You Decide will also feature two special music performances; the first from 2009 winner Alexander Rybak performing his classic song ‘Fairytale’, and the second, by British Pop Rock Band, The Vamps performing their song ‘All Night’.

The 62nd Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Kyiv, Ukraine. The Semi Finals will be broadcast on Tuesday 9th and Thursday 11th May on BBC Four, and the Grand Final will be broadcast on 13th May on BBC One.

More on: TV
Follow on Twitter
Follow on Twitter
Like on Facebook