X Factor 2016 judges to return next year? Simon Cowell "hopes so"


Simon Cowell has suggested that The X Factor 2016 judges will be back next year.

If so it would be the first time in SIX years that the show's panel has remained the same.

The last time we had an unchanged line up was back in X Factor's peak when Louis Walsh, Dannii Minogue and Cheryl Cole joined Simon between 2008 and 2010.

Since then the show has gone through a conveyor belt of judges including Tulisa, Gary Barlow, Kelly Rowland, Mel B, Rita Ora and Nick Grimshaw. Current judges Nicole Scherzinger and Sharon Osbourne, as well as Louis, have also all been on the panel before this year.

Speaking to DigitalSpy at the Pride of Britain awards last night, Simon said he "hope" Nicole, Sharon and Louis would return in 2017.

While this year's show is still far from over, ITV have already renewed the The X Factor for a further three years, meaning it'll be on air until at least 2010.

Simon said of the deal earlier this month: "I want to thank ITV for continuing to be fantastic partners. I'm delighted for the shows and, in particular, for all the talented people who work on them with us.”

The renewal also includes sister show Britain's Got Talent, which has now had the same judging line up for five years.

For now, The X Factor 2016 is back this Saturday and Sunday night on ITV at 8PM.

Get the latest news

Subscribe on YouTube