X Factor 2016: Thousands sign petition to BAN Honey G

©Thames / Syco

Thousands of X Factor viewers have signed a petition calling for Honey G to be replaced.

Sunday was the second half of judges' houses as Sharon Osbourne picked her finalists for the live shows.

A total of seven acts performed for Sharon and her guest judge Robbie Williams over in LA.

Christopher Peyton, Samantha Atkinson, Janet Grogan and James Wilson were all sent home by Sharon while she said yes to Honey G, Relley C and Saara Aalto.

Honey G's inclusion in the line up hasn't gone down well with many viewers, including the family of the acts that missed out.

X Factor 2016 overs

The Sun newspaper reports on a petition apparently launched by the cousin of Samantha, Yasemin.

She wrote on the petition website: “Samantha Atkinson is my cousin and I and thousands of other X factor viewers feel she was robbed of her place on live shows tonight, when Sharon Osbourne gave Honey G one of them places in final 12.

“Let’s sign and show X factor bosses and ITV that they have made a huge mistake!!!”

One of the signees added: "I don't see why honey g got through when she can't sing!! It's a singing show."

3,000 people had signed the petition by this morning, a figure that has more than doubled to 7,000 at the time of writing this.

As for Samantha herself, she told the Hull Daily Mail about the controversy: “Well done to her at the end of the day.

“I can't say I wasn't disheartened that both she and Saara got through when neither of them had a chair at the six-chair challenge.

X Factor judges houses

“I fought really hard to keep that chair too, but at the end of the day Sharon has made her decision."

Joining the Overs in the live shows are Simon's girls Sam Lavery, Emily Middlemas and Gifty Louise, Louis's groups 5 After Midnight, Brooks Way and Bratavio, and Nicole's Boys Matt Terry, Freddy Parker and Ryan Lawrie.

The X Factor goes live this Saturday on ITV from 8PM.

Get the latest news

Subscribe on YouTube